Things are Looking up!

Well I can definitely say that this year in general and especially has been a good if not great month for me… for the most part. The only bad thing that I can think of is what happened on February 19 when I was jogging on a treadmill.

(Warning this may be graphic especially if you have a strong imagination and are squeamish)

I was going to to do a second cardio day for the week since my first day felt inadequate. I was going to see if I could go past one mile on the treadmill and them do a 45 minute class of Zumba. While nearing the end of the mile I felt pretty good and not exhausted at all which for me meant that my cardio workouts have been going great for me. So again, nearing the end my left hand hit the side metal railing on the treadmill and of course there was a little pain, but I kept going. It wasn’t until ten seconds later that I noticed a red splatter on the screen while I was running, so I stopped the treadmill and the part of my hand that I hit had blood coming out of it. Needless to say I didn’t understand the magnitude of this injury (I didn’t think it was that bad, just more than I expected), but I treated it like any minor injury that I’m used to getting.

I wet a paper towel with cold water and placed it on the wound and cleaned it, took a smaller piece of paper towel with rubbing alcohol and further cleaned the wound and lastly took another piece of paper towel (dry) and wrapped the wound. I then went back to the treadmill, completed the mile, stopped and further addressed the wound. Due to the cardio vascular activity I ended up bleeding for a while ( I thought it was for 30 minutes), but fortunately the bleeding slowed as time went even while taking a shower. When I went back to the treadmill I found the layer of skin that was removed from me and threw it away. When I told my family what happened they were in a slight panic based on what I described and tried to convince me that I needed to go to the hospital for stitches, while all I needed was some basatration, some band-aids and some time. I would estimate that it will be fully healed by this Saturday, but I’m not a doctor (shrugs shoulders).

Now on to the good stuff!!! I’m on my way to  possible getting a new cell phone because my current one is…. I’ll say dying. This happened at the Wizard World Convention, but my phone’s screen basically went white, so I can’t see ANYTHING meaning calls, texts and my background of a sea lion from the Indianapolis Zoo. On top of that some buttons have stopped working except for the keypad for dialing, answering and ending calls which isn’t all bad, but I’ve been fortunate. So hopefully this will be the week that I get an upgrade… well anything that I get will be an upgrade, but it was a good cell phone.

I was able to do some graphic design and school work for an instructor at IUPUI this past week. He wanted me to create a brochure for the summer engineering camp called the Minority Engineering Program (MEAP). For the most part information about this program is word of mouth even though they have a website, but it’s a good program to go to if you want to expose your children to various forms of engineering and technology, this would be the place to bring them. I was a participant for the program for what will be ten years ago this July and I’ve still been involved with them in some form. I do have some stories I could share from my time as a counselor, but those will come later on.

This past Friday I had a free party at a place called Howl at the Moon. Needless to say we all enjoyed ourselves, but I will say that out of the three times that I’ve been this had to be the time that they had the best song selection as far as people having fun, dancing and having a good time. I would’ve like to add that the Pacers beat the Cavs, but apparently Coach Blatt didn’t want LeBorn, Irving and Love to play. Back to the party, that was honestly the best time I’ve had there considering I was either sitting or standing while nodding my head watching people do the wobble and the cupid shuffle.

Second to last, I’ve been getting an urge to do something I haven’t done before when it comes to matters of the heart. It’s gotten to the point where if I don’t address something with this specific person I feel that I’ll regret it and that’s never happened to me before. I’ll accept whatever answer she gives me, I just hope that no matter what happens that we can still be friends.

Finally, I had a job interview this past Monday. I don’t want to say the place, not because I’m embarrassed, but because I’m kind of secretive. Also, I hope you can guess what that means by me not mentioning the name of a place that I interviewed at. I ‘ll give you another hint they thought I was awesome (an actual quote I kid you not) and I’m not taking about The Miz. 😀

One thought on “Things are Looking up!

  1. Nice to see it’s been a good year for you too! I skimmed past the exercising mishap. You know I’m squeamish with that kinda thing!

    I hope you get a new cell phone soon! I miss getting to text you.

    I heard about your party.

    Next, I’d like to hear about what happens with you and this person.

    “Also, I hope you can guess what that means by me not mentioning the name of a place that I interviewed at.” No, no I cannot.

    Keep me posted on the job search!

Leave a comment