“Emotional” Intelligence

While I feel that I am emotionally intelligent, I want to type about something a bit different. One thing that friends and mostly everyone who sees me more often than not will tell you that I don’t talk much. Now you may be thinking that if you don’t talk much how the hell do you have any friends? Personally I think it’s sex appeal….

, but in general it’s either we have something in common or that they think I’m an alright person. Back on topic, I don’t say much for several reasons, but should actually say something I’m usually relaxed, soft spoken and maybe slightly monotoned. However, on the contrary there aren’t too many friends that can say that they’ve seen me emotional unless it’s a game of UNO, but that’s something else. The reason I am mentioning that is because of something I’ve noticed over the years that whenever I go beyond my neutral (even-keeled/non-emotional) state, my vocabulary increases. Obviously I would have had to learn these words before hand, but I never really use… more advanced words in my neutral state. Another odd thing is that the words I use fit the emotion that I’m in. For example, I would never use the word eviscerate unless I was angry or worse. That’s just one example and normally no one is around when that happens, but that’s what happens to me when I’m inside my own head everyday.

As for the original meaning of emotional intelligence I do have an ability to sense others emotions, heck I was able to feel that a friend was fatigued before I texted her and let her know that I thought she might be feeling that way. After I sent it she said she had spent most of the day moving things and packing for a trip and that she was tired. Could be a coincidence though.

Leave a comment